• blueandgold
  • amazon
  • facebook
  • easyfundraising
  • twitter
OJS Electicial
Previous Season SEASON 1952-53 FIXTURES/RESULTS Next Season
Date   Opponents                          F-A   Att  Scorers
Sat 23 Aug Lowestoft                      A   3-0  2849  Everitt. Heagren 2
Wed 27 Aug Yarmouth Town           (MS)   H   4-0  5500  Whitelum, Everitt 2, Auld
Sat 30 Aug Spurs A                        H   3-2  5915  Whitelum 2, Auld
Tue 02 Sep Eynesbury                      H   5-1  5215  Everitt 3, Auld, Whitelum
Sat 06 Sep Harwich                 (ECLC) A   2-5        Whitelum, Everitt
Tue 09 Sep Eynesbury                      A   4-2        Everitt 3, Isbill             
Sat 13 Sep Gorleston                      H   2-3        Everitt 2
Tue 16 Sep Eynesbury               (EAC)  A   4-4        Whitelum, Auld, Everitt, Morris
Sat 20 Sep Bury                           A   2-1        Whitelum 2
Sat 27 Sep St Neots                (FAC)  H   4-1  5349  Auld, Whitelum 2, Everitt
Wed 01 Oct Eynesbury               (EAC)  H   3-1  3802  Whitelum 2, Isbill
Sat 04 Oct Arsenal A                      H   1-0  5005  Auld
Sat 11 Oct Cambridge City          (FAC)  A   3-3        Everitt, Whitelum, Auld
Wed 15 Oct Cambridge City          (FAC)  H   5-1  4487  Whitelum 2, Auld, W Clark, Everitt
Sat 18 Oct Norwich A                      H   2-0  5000  Williams, Everitt
Sat 25 Oct Cambridge United        (FAC)  A   0-0
Wed 29 Oct Cambridge United        (FAC)  H   4-0  4218  Morris, Whitelum, Everitt, Foster
Sat 01 Nov West Ham A                     H   7-0  5097  Whitelum 5, Everitt, Auld
Sat 08 Nov Grays Athletic          (FAC)  A   0-0
Wed 12 Nov Grays Athletic          (FAC)  H   0-2  5377
Sat 15 Nov Clacton                        H   7-1  3516  Maffey (o.g), Isbill, Everitt 3, Morris, Heagren
Sat 22 Nov Gorleston                      A   1-5        Heagren
Sat 29 Nov Chelmsford Res                 H   7-0  3176  Auld 2, Heagren 3, Isbill, Whitelum
Sat 13 Dec West Ham A                     H   1-2  1921  Whitelum
Sat 20 Dec Arsenal A                      H   2-1  1470  Auld, Whitelum
Thu 25 Dec Yarmouth Town                  H   2-1         Whitelum 2 (1 pen)
Fri 26 Dec Yarmouth Town                  A   0-2
Sat 27 Dec Crittalls Athletic             H   1-0  3571  Whitelum
Sat 03 Jan Chelsea A                      H   5-0  2363  Whitelum 2, Everott. Smith
Sat 10 Jan Crittalls Athletic             A   3-4        Whitelum 2, Williams
Sat 17 Jan Cromer                  (NSC)  H   2-1  3602  Whitelum, Morris
Sat 24 Jan Stowmarket                     A   3-1        Everitt, Morris, Isbill
Sat 31 Jan Lowestoft Town                 H   6-1  2531  Whitelum 3, Auld 3
Sat 07 Feb Yarmouth                (NSC)  H   3-0  4032  Auld 2, Whitelum
Sat 14 Feb Clacton                        A   3-2        Morris, Whitelum, Auld
Sat 21 Feb Norwich A                      H   2-0  3876  Whitelum, Auld
Sat 28 Feb Cambridge United               H   1-4  5258  Everitt
Sat 07 Mar Norwich A               (NSC)  H   2-1  5111  Whitelum
Sat 14 Mar Chelmsford Res                 A   1-1        Whitelum
Sat 21 Mar Chelsea A                      H   2-2  3690  Whitelum, Heagren
Thu 26 Mar Colchester              (EAC)  A   1-2        Heagren
Sat 28 Mar Bury Town                      H   3-0  3108  Whitelum 2, Morris
Fri 03 Apr Gillingham Res                 H   4-1  4892  Shitelum 2, Catleugh 2
Mon 06 Apr Gorleston               (NSC)  -   0-3 15723                                          [Receipts £1066]
Tue 07 Apr Nuneaton                (NCC)  A   1-2        Auld
Sat 11 Apr Spurs A                        H   0-0
Thu 16 Apr Harwich                        A   0-0
Sat 18 Apr Cambridge United               A   1-1        Whitelum
Mon 20 Apr Colchester                     H   0-3  3131
Wed 22 Apr Wisbech Town            (CFC)  A   0-3  5593
Thu 23 Apr Harwich                        H   4-0  2406  Whitelum 2, Auld, Heagren
Sat 25 Apr Stowmarket                     H   3-0  3365  Whitelum, Morris 2
Mon 27 Apr West Bromwich Albion           H   4-5  9500  Whitelum 2, Whittaker, Griffin (o.g.)   [Percy Hooper Benefit]
Tue 28 Apr Wisbech Town            (CFC)  H   2-3        Morris, Whitelum
Wed 29 Apr Gillingham Res                 A   1-5        Whitelum
Sat 02 May Colchester Res                 A   2-5        Isbill, Auld
Mon 04 May Norwich City XI                H   0-2  3370
Wed 06 May Yarmouth Town           (DCC)  -   2-3
Sat 09 May Gorleston               (NJC)  H   3-2        Whitelum 2 (1 pen), Howe
NCC  Nuneaton Charity Cup, NJC Norfolk Jubilee Cup, DCC Dereham Charity Cup, EAC East Anglian Cup, FAC FA Cup, CFC Culey Festival Cup
NSC  Norfolk Senior Cup, MS Miller Shield


Cliff Whitelum notched his 200th goal for Lynn in the match against Yarmouth on Christmas Day.

As early as July, manager Jack Howe had announced his first major signing - that of Walter Auld an outside left who had turned down 
offers from Berwick Rangers and Headington in order to come to Lynn.
Other major captures saw the return of Harry Cranfield from March Town, the signing of Ted Roberts who, although 35, had made over thirty 
appearances for Coventry City in the previous season.
Dennis Foster, a former Sheffield Wednesday player, completed the major signings when he moved from Wisbech.

In a challenge match against North Runcton, the Linnets lost by 77 runs!
Speedway made its debut in Lynn that summer - over three thousand watching a meeting to raise funds for the Lynmouth Flood disaster.

The league campaign started well with four wins and silverware was won with a 4-0 victory over Yarmouth Town in the Miller Shield in 
front of a gate of 5,995.
In the FA Cup Lynn progressed to the 4th Qualifying Round - defeating both Cambridge clubs, City and United, on the way. In the same 
competition Norwich City had to take Tonbridge to a replay before defeating them.
Going into the New Year Lynn had the satisfaction of their highest league position since returning to the Eastern Counties League 
tempered with the fact that gates were at their lowest since the arrival of professionalism at The Walks - the average being just 4,313.
Lynn went top of the league with a 5-0 victory over Chelsea A but reported a £500 loss for the first half of the season. 
Jack Howe announced that he was going to stand down at the end of the season.

On Saturday 31 January 1953 Lynn defeated Lowestoft 6-1 at The Walks on a very windy afternoon. 
That evening large areas of the town and the East Anglian coast were flooded and many lives were lost.
The following Saturday Lynn defeated Yarmouth 3-0 in the Norfolk Senior Cup - a collection for flood victims raised £150.

West Bromwich Albion visited The Walks in a benefit match for Lynn keeper Percy Hooper. 
A crowd of 9,500 saw the visitors win 5-4 although how much of the match was seen by Hooper is not stated - he was carried off after 35 minutes